Pillow Talk – West 7th

Americans love iconic roads. There is just something mythical and majestic about Route 66, Broadway, and Rodeo Drive. Not to be out done, Fort Worth has its share of grand, red brick boulevards: Camp Bowie, Berry, North Main. Recently, these older streets have been seen their glory surpassed by the revitalized West 7th.

Once known for car dealerships, West 7th is the premiere mixed-use development in linking downtown Fort Worth to the Cultural District. West 7th encompasses nearly five city blocks of shopping, dining, and multifamily living.

For AATC members, West 7th is attracts renters from cultural district employees, TCU students, central business district and medical center employees, as well as, those individuals that seek an upscale urban lifestyle. With the new 15,000 seat rodeo arena opening in 2019, West 7th can grab a burger a Fred’s and watch bull riders or partake of fine dining at Eddie V’s and gaze at a Rembrandt. All on the same street.

Fort Worth. Cowboys and culture. Where West 7th begins.

Early voting begins October 24th and ends November 4th for the November 8th general election. While the presidential contest has dominated the 2016 elections, AATC, NAA, and TAA are actively supporting the following down-ballot candidates. In congressional races, we recommend incumbent Democrat Marc Veasey (CD-33) and Republican incumbents Joe Barton (CD–6), Michael Burgess (CD-26), Kay Granger (CD-12), Kenny Marchant (CD -24) and Roger Williams (CD – 25). In Tarrant County state senate races, we support incumbent Republicans Jane Nelson (SD 12) and Brian Birdwell (SD 22). In Texas House contests, AATC endorses incumbent-Republicans and AATC members Stephanie Klick (HD-91) and Craig Goldman (HD -97), as well as, incumbent Democrats Ramon Romero (HD 90), Nicole Collier (HD 95), and Chris Turner (HD 101) and incumbent Republicans DeWayne Burns (HD-58), J.D. Sheffield (HD-59), Phil King (HD 61), Matt Krause (HD 93), Tony Tinderholt (HD 94), Bill Zedler (HD-96), Gio Capriglione (HD 98) and Charlie Geren (HD-99). In the open HD 60 seat, AATC recommends Republican Mike Lang In county races, AATC supports incumbent Democrat constables Michael Campbell (P8) and Ruben Garcia (P5) and Republican incumbent constables Dale Clark (P1), David Woodruff (P2), Darrell Huffman (P3), Jon Siegel (P6) and Clint Burgess (P7). AATC recommends Republican candidates Jody Johnson (Constable P4) and Bill Waybourn (Sheriff). The last day to register to vote is October 11th. For information about voter registration go to: http://www.tarrantcounty.com/en/elections/Voter-Information.html.

On September 26th, a trial was held in State District Judge Melody Wilkinson’s 17th District Court in Fort Worth regarding the City of Bedford’s sovereign immunity (immunity from being sued). Bedford asserted this immunity by making a plea to the jurisdiction. Judge Wilkinson’s ruling on Bedford’s immunity claim was not available as of publication date of this article, but AATC believes we will prevail and that the Bedford will mostly likely appeal to the 2nd Court of Appeals in Fort Worth. This trial is in addition to and parallel with the trial on the merits set for May 2017. As a reminder, Bedford properties will continue to be inspected under the current ordinance and pay the imposed fees. AATC will keep our members updated as we work through this complicated case. If you have any questions, please contact Perry Pillow by phone at (817) 616-0354 or email ppillow@aatcnet.org

Ever wonder which city code compliance officer conducted your apartment inspection? Are you curious about how your competition’s inspection score compare to yours or how your inspector’s scores line-up with other city inspectors? If your property is in Arlington, wonder no more. There’s a map for that! The City of Arlington Code Compliance Department has created an online map on its website (http://www.arlington-tx.gov/codecompliance/rapid-reference-guide-multi-family-communities/map) that show locations of Arlington apartment communities and the name and contact information of the assigned Code Compliance officer. The annual inspection score and property rating is also provided for each apartment community.

AATC’s 2016 Fall Classic golf tournament presented by Service Response Team is Tuesday, October 11th, at Tour 18 in Flower Mound. Tour 18 is the premiere golf courses in North Texas. AATC golf tournaments are our primary funding source for AATC’s Political Action Committee (PAC). The dedication of our sponsors gives AATC the ability to host this event at this fabulous course. For more information, email Perry Pillow at ppillow@aatcnet.org or call (817) 616-0353.

Perry Pillow is AATC’s Director of Government Affairs. For more information on any of AATC’s government initiatives, call Perry at 817-616-0353 or email him at ppillow@aatcnet.org.