November 2018 Election Results

The 2018 Election season has come and gone and I think we can all agree that the best thing about this election is that we get our normal television commercials back! What a night with a lot of tight races. If you didn’t know already, AATC is a non-partisan advocacy group that supports candidates that have multifamily interests at heart. Our members and AATC staff work tirelessly to find and support the right candidates. On that note, we are happy to announce that AATC supported candidates won 93% of their races in yesterday’s general election, which is great for our industry!

View the complete breakdown of AATC supported candidates below.

AATC member Republican state representatives Stephanie Klick (R – HD 91) and Craig Goldman (R – HD97) won, as did all Tarrant County incumbent state representatives.

Republican incumbent Ted Cruz defeated Democrat challenger Beto O’Rourke in one the tightest, costliest, and high profile US Senate races in recent history.

All congressional candidates supported by AATC won including Republican incumbents Kay Granger, Kenny Marchant, Michael Burgess, and Roger Williams; incumbent Democrat MarcVeasy; and, in a close race, Republican candidate Ron Wright.

Republican incumbent state senator Kelly Hancock (SD 9) won, but incumbent Republican state senator Konni Burton (SD 10) lost to Democrat challenger Beverly Powell.

As expected, all statewide Republican incumbents won.

AATC candidates won 7 of 8 Justice of the Peace races.  Justice of the Peace winners include: Ralph Swearengin (R – JP1), Mary Tom Curnutt (R – JP2), Bill Brandt (R – JP3), Chris Gregory (R – JP4), Sergio DeLeon (D – JP5), Jason Charbonnet (R – JP6), & Lisa Woodward (D – JP8).  Significantly, AATC friend  and long-time Mansfield-area Justice of the Peace Matt Hayes (R – JP7) lost to new comer Kenneth Sanders.

 AATC supported incumbent Republican County Clerk Mary Louise Garcia won, but in an unexpected upset, long-time republican incumbent Precinct 2 County Commissioner Andy Nguyen lost to Democrat Devan Allen.

As expected, the proposal to retroactively term-limit Arlington City Council members pass overwhelmingly with 66% of the vote. AATC, along with the Mayor and business community, opposed this initiative.


Complete list of voting results: