New Leaders for TAA

by John Mitchell, AATC Executive Director

The Texas Apartment Association’s leadership team is structured like many others across our state as well as NAAs affiliates across the nation. TAA elects a group of volunteer officers and directors charged every year with policy, program and personnel oversite for multihousing’s state-wide trade association.

“AATC elects a group of TAA Directors asked to represent multihousing’s best interests across the State of Texas,” said AATC President Nicolle Block (AMLI Residential). “Each of these wonderful leaders has a proven track record for success.”

AATCs newest TAA Directors include Darcy Bixby (Westdale), Nicolle Block (AMLI Residential), Jackie Cagle (Rasa), Jason Busboom (Busboom Group), Sherry Jordan (LumaCorp), Jinger Lane (Lincoln), Chris Lee (Earthworks), Candy Maxey (Greystar), Michael Payne (Allmark) and Patti Utley (BH). In addition, Becca Brown (BG Multihousing), Cayce Coon (Madera), Jeff Duerstock (Reliant) and John Gillespie (WAK) have been elected to serve as TAA Director-alternates.

TAAs program year begins this summer with its first board and other related meetings scheduled July 17-19 at the Omni Barton Creek in Austin. Additional TAA meetings are set for October 23-25 at the new Lowes in Arlington; February 5-7 next year at the Hotel Paso Del Norte in El Paso; as well as April 22-24 in conjunction with TAAs next Education Conference scheduled right here in DFW at the Fort Worth Convention Center.

“We’re proud to be a big part of our state-focused multi-housing trade association,” said Block. “I’d encourage any of our DFW members to reach out to any of AATCs TAA directors to share their interests and concerns. We’re always looking for ideas to make the industry we serve even stronger.”

John Mitchell has served as AATCs CEO for the past 27-years. For additional information on the Association’s leadership role with TAA, check-out the webpage or reach out to John at