Maintenance Mania was a Success…Again!

by Sandy Garza, Greystar, and Charles Stroud, CSC ServiceWorks, Maintenance Mania Co-Chairs

2018 Maintenance Mania Chairs, Sandy Garza, Greystar, and Charles Stroud, Appliance Warehouse; along with Sherry Jordan, LumaCorp, AATC's President.

Once again, Maintenance Mania was a hit! This year claims to be the largest ever, and it was! With more than 350 competitors, 600 spectators, and 100 staff, volunteers and sponsors on hand; it’s clear to see how this event takes place in the largest room at Arlington Convention Center.

For the 5th straight time, Angel Diaz, The Woods of Bedford, took home the top prize with Milestone Management bringing home the top three overall scores. Just behind Angel were Jason Wyles, the Woods of Bedford, and Victor Olascoaga, Summer Meadows. Milestone had a strong showing overall by taking 18 of the 27 money prizes available that evening. Mid America (MAA) also represented well by grabbing eight of the available money positions with Lincoln Property taking home the prize for the fastest race car.

This year, we introduced a new special event, the Crazy Car Challenge. Each selected management company built a car with ‘limited’ specifications and raced against each other in this unique exhibition match. The winner of the inaugural outing was BH Management with 4.586 seconds of total time! Also, for the first time ever, we handed out a Spirit Award; again, going to BH Management.

Special thanks to our sponsors that helped make this event the greatest in the country. We are certainly grateful that HD Supply is the NAA National Maintenance Mania Sponsor but we can’t forget about our own local game sponsors, who were: Arbor Carpet, Chadwell Supply, Ferguson Facilities Supply, LSR Multifamily, Maintenance Supply HQ, Rasa Floors, and Service Response Team. Thank you all for making this the best event in history!

Here is a quick list of winners from the night:

Check out these photos from the event.

AATC will update you soon as to the status of our top contenders and whether or not they’ll get to make another trip to the National Competition Finals, this year located in San Diego.

See you in 2019!