Lone Star Award Nominations

by Darcy Bixby, Westdale, AATC Lone Star Awards Chair

Each year, since 2001, AATC has requested a call for entries into the most distinguished award available to the apartment industry. Some call it the ‘Oscars of multifamily’ and true to its name, it is an event to behold. Over the years, it has evolved and grown into one of AATC’s largest attended events and is coveted by sponsors for the attention and exposure the event receives.

Once again, we invite you to nominate a worthy multifamily property or individual that you think represents the best-of-the-best in the industry. Whether it’s your boss or employee, or even a client, you can nominate a worthy candidate.

We’ve made a few changes to our nomination categories and format this year to help us not only expedite the judging process but to also help us identify worth contenders for this prestigious award.

You’ll notice a few changes in the award categories this year. That’s because we have merged the Community Team of the Year Award and the Property of the Year Award into one new category, Community of the Year. Regardless of when you’ve won either of those two awards in the past, you’re now eligible to win this brand new award. We’ve also a new Service Support award to help us recognize those unsung heroes that work on the property such as porters, groundskeepers, assistant maintenance and make-ready.

Here is a breakdown of each New category:

NEW – Community of the Year (4 awards)
Combined previous Property of the Year and Community Team of the Year into a completely NEW category. All previous winners of the two previous categories are now eligible to win in this new category.

NEW – Senior Housing Community of the Year
Same as Community of the Year except only Senior Housing communities are eligible to win this one. All previous winners of the two previous categories are now eligible to win in this new category.

NEW – Service Support of the Year
A brand new category to recognize your Groundskeepers, Porters, Make-Ready Techs, Assistant Maintenance Techs, etc. Maintenance Supervisors have their own category (see below).

Returning Categories for 2018:

Leasing Consultant of the Year
The first happy face your prospects see and the ones who fill those units up! Nominate a deserving Leasing Consultant for this extremely prestigious award.

Assistant Manager of the Year
The ones who make sure all your i’s are dotted and your t’s are crossed, plus they collect those rents! Nominate an outstanding Assistant Manager today!

Maintenance Supervisor of the Year (2 awards)
The foundation of any successful property is a strong maintenance team and your maintenance supervisors lead them into battle each and every day. Nominate a qualified Maintenance Supervisor for their exceptional ability!

Property Manager of the Year (2 awards)
Every good team needs a leader and your property managers are leaders, through and through. If you want to ensure the success of a multi-million dollar asset, then stop no further than finding the perfect property manager. Nominate a deserving Property Manager today!

Property Supervisor of the Year
These driven professionals are the ones who lead the leaders. They are the driving force behind the success of multiple properties managed by a single operator or management company. Nominate a superior Property Supervisor or Regional Manager today!

As you can see, there is no valid reason why you shouldn’t have someone worthy of a Lone Star Awards nomination. As most of our previous nominees can attest—it is an honor to be nominated.

Visit aatcnet.org today to nominate a community or property. Nominations close on June 30, so don’t delay!