City Elections, May 5th – Go Vote!

by Jason Busboom, Busboom Group, AATC's Government Affairs Committee Chair

City elected and career officials daily impact AATC members. From code inspections to recycling and animal control to property taxes, city councils enact ordinances that profoundly affect rental housing owners and operators.

AATC vs Bedford litigation highlights the adverse consequences that arise from electing anti-apartment city council members.  To prevent additional onerous, anti-apartment city rules and regulations, AATC must exercise their must sacred civil duty: vote!  This Saturday, May 5th, AATC members throughout Tarrant County must vote to support pro-business, pro-multifamily candidates running for city council.

If you live in Tarrant County, I urge you, your family, and friends to vote.  Historically, less than 100 votes decide who wins a city council seat.

More than fifty candidates have filed for mayor or city council in the May 5thmunicipal elections in AATC’s service area. Fort Worth municipal elections are in odd-years.

AATC PAC is supporting two city council candidates: Helen Moise in Arlington and Darryl Haynes in Mansfield.

In Arlington, long-serving district 6 at-large council member Robert Shepard is challenged by perennial candidate Chris Dodson. Two candidates have filed for the open Arlington district 1 seat including Helen Moise and Dr. Barbara Odom-Wesley (former mayor Elzie Odom’s daughter). AATC PAC supports Moise.  Arlington council incumbents Shari Capehart and Dr. Victoria Myers are unopposed. Myers is speaking to AATC’s Lyceum Class on May 18thand Shepard is a long-time friend.

Bedford incumbent Dave Gebhart is opposed by Dan Cogan while incumbent mayor Jim Griffin and incumbent place 1 council member RustySartorare unopposed. All Bedford candidates are anti-multifamily.

Burleson incumbent place 1 council member Stuart Gillaspie faces Shannan Sutter; in the place 3 open seat Katherine Reading faces Dan Taylor, and place 5 incumbent Dan McClendon is unopposed.

Euless incumbent place 5 member Harry Zimmer is opposed by Tim St. Clair while Molly Maddux and Salman Bhojani are vying for the open place 6 seat. State Representative Johnathan Stickland (R – HD 92) has jumped into the Euless fray, by endorsing Maddux.

Grapevine long-serving incumbent mayor William Tate and place 1 council member Paul Slechta are unopposed and place 2 incumbent Sharron Spencer faces Carlos Merla.

Three incumbent Haltom City city council members have opponents including Brent Weast taking on Trae Fowler for place 4, Willis O’Dell opposing Bob Watkins in place 5, and Chris Bethel challenging Ricky Brown for place 6 while place 3 incumbent Lin Thompson’s opponent withdrew.

In Hurst, Henry Wilson is unopposed for mayor while place 5 incumbent Bill McLendonis opposed by Jeff Childers. Jessica Martin and Cathy Thompson have filed for the open place 4 seat and Cindy Shepard, Howard Shotwell, and Chad Householder are vying for the open place 7 seat.

In Mansfield, four candidates have filed for the open place 3 and place 5 seats: Mike Leyman and Brent Parker for place 3 and Tamera Bounds and Julie Short in place 5. Place 4 incumbent Darryl Haynes is opposed by Casey Lewis. AATC PAC supports Haynes.

Long-serving North Richland Hills mayor Oscar Trevino is unopposed as are place 2 council member Rita Oujeskyand place 6 incumbent Scott Turnage. Taylor Steele and Brent Barrow are competing for the open place 4 seat.

To find your polling place go to–%20Polling%20Location%20for%20Early%20Voting%20and%20Election%20Day